3.20.2013

AngelFall by Susan Ee

This was a total find. Thank you Kindle Sale for leading me to this book -- I completely enjoyed it.

ANGELFALL (Penryn and the End of Days Book 1) by Susan Ee (AMAZON CHILDREN'S PUBLISHING, 2012) is the kind of book they would promote as "for fans of The Hunger Games, Twilight and Shiver and Matched...." and about a hundred other totally great YA books that throw star-crossed teenagers together; couples who shouldn't fit but do, despite all the odds.

Here, we have Raffe and Penryn -- he an avenging angel to her angelic apocalypse survivor. Set in Silicon Valley, ANGELFALL follows the journey of Penryn as she tries to rescue her wheelchair-bound little sister, Paige with assistance from the de-winged angel cast aside by the band of angels who kidnapped Paige in the first place. He is the only one who can lead her to the angel headquarters, so Penryn has to stick with him. It doesn't hurt that he's fantastically gorgeous and seems to have an affinity for saving her life. Repeatedly.

And then there's Penryn's paranoid schizophrenic mother, who might or might not be following them. Penryn doesn't have time to worry about her, though, because who knows what those winged fiends want with her paralyzed sister and there's the whole end of the world thing to deal with and all.

Hooked by the premise, I read the first chapter thinking, well, if it's a bust it was only $3.

Hear me now: TOTALLY WORTH FULL PRICE. It was the first book in a long while that I found myself really jonesing to get back to. LOVED it. Amazon, please please please send me an ARC of book 2 (due out this fall). I really can NOT wait.

No comments: