The Dragon Whistler

The Dragon Whistler
Now available in paperback.


A Snicker of Magic by Natalie Lloyd

This may be my favorite middle grade book of the year. A SNICKER OF MAGIC  (Scholastic, 2014) is the spindiddly story of Felicity Pickle who has moved to her mother's hometown of Midnight Gulch. Having spent most of her life following Momma's wandering heart all over the country, Felicity is ready to put down some roots and make some friends.

Her ability to see words everywhere — words that let her know what people are thinking and feeling — clues her in right away that Midnight Gulch is a special kind of town. Momma tells her it used to be magical. No wonder it's already feeling like home. Sadly, though, the magic disappeared long ago.

But Felicity soon discovers there may be just a snicker of magic left in Midnight Gulch. And sometimes, that's all you need to make wonderful things happen.

Colorful characters, tantalizing folklore, and splendiferous ice cream (that seems to be scoops of magic itself) are just some of the magical elements debut author Natalie Lloyd uses to weave this heart-warming tale of love, friendship and magic. Fans of SAVVY and BLISS will adore this book (for grades 4-7).

1 comment:

Anita said...

This review makes me miss having pre-teens. My girls are now 19, 16, and 14. Good review! It makes ME want to read it.